The Glenesk Retreat is currently closed, as part of an ongoing restructuring.
The original Retreat, now demolished, was a cottage built by Captain Wemyss in the 1840s as an escape from the sea. Newly refurbished, it continues to offer a genial mix of the tranquil and convivial, for everyone.
The Glenesk Folk Museum is for some people a discovery, for others a home to revisit, over and over again. Local school teacher Greta Michie opened the museum in 1955, using innovative methods of telling ordinary people’s stories by drawing on living history ideas being then pioneered in Scandinavia.
Relax in the cafe and enjoy a delicious variety of cakes, scones and tray bakes, lovingly made on the premises.
Use the filters below to discover what there is to see and do, places to eat and where to stay in Angus.
By Where to Eat:
By Things to See & Do: