Over the centuries the spelling of ‘Monifieth’ has altered many times, as has the possible reasons for the name. The registered coat of arms features a stag and a hill, signifying the combination of two Gaelic words Monadh Feidh. However, the earliest form of the name “Monifod” would suggest that it derives from the gaelic words “moine” and “foide”, meaning moss or bog of the peats.
In 1841 the population of the parish of Monifieth was 3,461, including the inhabitants of Broughty Ferry, Drumsturdy and the surrounding country districts. In 1862 Broughty Ferry put forward an application to be considered as a Burgh and became independent in 1864.
The village, known as ‘Kirktoun of Monifieth’, had over the centuries grown into a small but busy industrial township. Iron founding, jute mills and associated trade supported many skilled workers. In 1895 Monifieth ceased to be a village and was registered as a Burgh and the first Provost, David Stewart, was elected.
Follow the heritage trail around Monifieth to discover its fascinating past.