The Burn is a small country estate which is run as a charitable trust to support student study groups.
When not being used as an academic retreat venue, The Burn offers hotel and holiday suite accommodation in a grand Georgian mansion house along with three self-catering properties: Courtyard House a 6 bedroomed house with accommodation for 12 guests and two gatehouses – North and South Lodges – each with 2 twin bedrooms.
The Burn estate is a protected designed landscape with many historic features of interest dating back to 1780. Burn House was constructed between 1791 and 1796 for General Lord Adam Gordon. It is steeped in history and was last used as a home by the Russell family between 1921 and 1939. The House served as a hospital during WW2 and is now an academic retreat for university students and living memorial to James Russell who was killed in action on 24 July 1944.
The house stands at the centre of a private 200 acre estate and is the perfect base to explore the NE of Scotland. There are wonderful walks within and around the estate, including the famous Blue Door walk along the Gannochy Gorge. The Burn garden also contains a tennis court, croquet lawn, putting green and bowls lawn. The River North Esk runs along the estate boundary and salmon fishing permits can be purchased from The Burn. For further information please visit The Burn website.
28 rooms in four properties (64 beds)
Accessibility additional info
Wheelchair access is only available on the ground floor, but there is ground floor accommodation suitable for a wheelchair user.
Dogs are welcome guests in The Burn’s self-catering properties and can enjoy walks within The Burn’s 200 acre estate.
Use the filters below to discover what there is to see and do, places to eat and where to stay in Angus.
By Where to Eat:
By Things to See & Do: