The original house was built in 1791, but has been significantly modernised and extended during its 216 years. Up until 1949 the Burn House was a family home, but since 1950 it has been used as an academic retreat by university students from across the world.
Today, when not occupied by student study groups, The Burn opens its doors to private guests and is an ideal venue for family gatherings, celebrations and conferences. It is a popular wedding facility and The Burn team take great pride in delivering a high standard of service in a spectacular and exclusive venue.
The Burn offers comfortable country house accommodation at a very good price. The house stands at the centre of a private 200 acre estate and is the perfect base to explore the NE of Scotland. The Burn offers wonderful walks within its estate, including the famous Blue Door walk along the Gannochy Gorge. The Burn garden also contains a tennis court, croquet lawn, putting green and bowls lawn. Salmon fishing permits can be purchased to fish the River North Esk and bicycles can also be hired.
The Burn operates a bar and a dining facility for resident guests and visitors. These are not 'walk-in' facilities but operate on a pre-booking arrangement.
Five family, twenty twin and one double.
Wheelchair access is only available on the ground floor, but there is ground floor accommodation suitable for a wheelchair user.